The United States of America, abbreviated US and often called America, are a federation of 50 states and the District of Columbia, situated mostly in North America. Two of the fifty states, Hawaii and Alaska, don’t have borders to other states. Several island areas in the Pacific and Caribbean Sea belong to the US, too. The United States are the second largest country in the world concerning inhabitants, after China and India. Also it is the second largest country in surface, after Russia and Canada.

The US is bordered in the north by Canada and in the south by Mexico. Washington D.C. is the capital city and the political center, New York is the largest city and the economical center.

The six big cities of the US are New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, Houston, Philadelphia and Phoenix.


The United states have a very various climate. It varies from tropical rainforest in Hawaii and tropical savanna in southern Florida (the Everglades) to subarctic and a tundra climate in Alaska.


Please choose a state below:

New York